Call for Entries: Sharyl Attkisson 2024 ION Awards at the University of Florida

Read about student and professional award winners and other information here.

The following announcement is from the journalism college at the University of Florida.

Sharyl Attkisson Investigative prize: $3,000 (UF students only)

All: We are now accepting your submissions for the Sharyl Attkisson Investigative and Original News (ION) Prize. This award is for UF students only and comes with a $3,000 award.

Submit one or a series of investigative stories published in this academic year (send links or PDFs). Shared bylines are acceptable (prize money would be split).

Submit to me by Wednesday, April 24, at 5 p.m.

Judging will be done by a small committee consisting of professionals and faculty unaffiliated with student work.

More info:

Award-winning journalist and CJC alumna Sharyl Attkisson, B.S. Telecommunication 1982 and Hall of Fame 1999, has donated funds for the Sharyl Attkisson Investigative and Original News (ION) Prize, intended to encourage fresh, innovative and open-minded approaches to independent reporting on important public policy issues at the university, city, county, state or national levels.

Ted Spiker

Chair, Professor • Department of Journalism, University of Florida

Visit The Sharyl Attkisson Store today

Shop Now

Unique gifts for independent thinkers

Proceeds benefit independent journalism

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top