The University of Florida announces 2024 winner of student Sharyl Attkisson ION Award

The following announcement is from the University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications. Read more on the ION Awards and past winners here.

UFCJC Alum Receives Prestigious Sharyl Attkisson Investigative and Original News Prize

The University of Florida College of Journalism and Communications (UFCJC) today announced that alumnus Silas Morgan, B.S. Journalism 2024, is the winner of this year’s Sharyl Attkisson Investigative and Original News Prize, which is intended to encourage fresh, innovative and open-minded approaches to independent reporting by students on important public policy issues at the university, city, county, state or national levels.

Morgan, who was part of UFCJC’s Fresh Take Florida investigation team, won for two stories about Florida lawmakers that had residences outside of the district they represented. The stories focused on Rep. Bruce Antone and Rep. Mike Redondo. The recognition comes with a $3,000 award.

“I’m honored to receive this prize,” Morgan said. “I could not have done such thorough investigative work as a student without Professor [Ted] Bridis and the Fresh Take Florida program.”

“Silas demonstrated journalism skills worthy of an experienced political reporter when he separately investigated two Florida lawmakers – one a Republican in Miami and the other a Democrat in Orlando,” said Bridis, the Michael and Linda Connelly Senior Lecturer in Investigative Reporting. “He poured through campaign filings, court records, voting histories, financial disclosures, property records and more. For one, Orlando Sentinel columnist Scott Maxwell praised Silas’ ‘stellar shoe-leather reporting.’’

The award, established in 2021, is sponsored by award-winning journalist and UFCJC alumna Sharyl Attkisson, B.S. Telecommunication 1982 and Hall of Fame 1999. For 30 years, Attkisson was a correspondent and anchor at CBS News, PBS, CNN and in local news. She is a five-time Emmy Award winner and recipient of the Edward R. Murrow Award for investigative reporting. Attkisson is a NYT bestselling author and is managing editor of the national Sunday TV show, “Full Measure with Sharyl Attkisson.”

Also read here.

Visit The Sharyl Attkisson Store today

Shop Now

Unique gifts for independent thinkers

Proceeds benefit independent journalism

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 thought on “The University of Florida announces 2024 winner of student Sharyl Attkisson ION Award”

Scroll to Top